index

HDMI 1.0 to HDMI 1.4

2013/8/12 10:34:30Click: 1098
Return

By Thomas J. Norton • Posted: Sep 8, 2010

 

All for 1.4, and 1.4 for All?

 

In 2002, the video world was just getting comfortable with component analog video. HDTV and DVD were only starting to acquire mass-market status. We were using three separate video cables to connect our shiny new HDTVs to our best sources. Add to that up to six audio cables to our A/V receivers. This forest of cables wasn’t heaven (except to cable vendors), but it worked, and it provided most viewers with their first real taste of high-quality video. We also had DVI, a standard for digital video borrowed from the computer world. But because its clunky connector only carried video and not audio as well, it never achieved critical mass.

 


Then along came High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) and its promise of a single cable from source to AVR to display for both audio and video. There were other contenders in this battle, including FireWire, but the scuffle was short. HDMI won the day. Today some 800 companies worldwide are HDMI licensing adopters and affiliates.

 

What HDMI Offers and What It Doesn’t

 

HDMI promised not only simpler system connections, but two-way communication between components and displays. Two-way communication offered consumers potential advantages in system automation. But its key attraction was to content providers, as it offered the opportunity for improved copy protection. Without this, studios would have been reluctant to release material that offered near-master-quality video and audio into the marketplace.

 

Despite its promised advantages, HDMI wasn’t initially free of operating glitches. Nearly all of these were related to the two-way handshake between components and displays—a transfer of information that must be completed before a signal lock-on can be established. The information exchanged, known as Extended Display Identification Data (EDID), can be relatively benign. It could include the display’s optimum resolution, the color space the display expects to see (component Y/Cb/Cr or RGB), or whether or not the set is 3D capable and what 3D format is involved.

 

Some of the requested EDID information is genuine secret-agent stuff. It involves the copy protection that’s near and dear to the hearts of film studios everywhere. For example, if the display or intermediate passthrough device (such as an A/V receiver) isn’t compliant with High-Bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP, one of the major copy protection schemes used with HD sources), the system won’t complete the handshake.


Many of the problems weren’t HDMI’s fault. They resulted from a failure to anticipate the overall connection environment (either by HDMI or by the manufacturers of the products in which it was used). HDMI issues haven’t disappeared entirely, but things have steadily improved thanks to an often bewildering range of HDMI revisions.

 

It all started with HDMI 1.0 in 2002 and moved steadily on up to the current versions: HDMI 1.4 and 1.4a. HDMI 1.0 gave us up to 1920-by-1080 resolution at up to 60 hertz, but only for 8-bit-per-color video (24 bits total for the three primary colors in the video signal). It could carry eight channels of linear PCM audio at resolutions of up to 24 bits/192 kilohertz.

 

Along the way, we passed through several intermediate HDMI iterations that added support for DVD-Audio and SACD and increased the video resolution the system could carry.

 

As we arrived at HDMI 1.3, we had more than double the video bandwidth, which allowed passage of full high-definition video at up to a 60-Hz refresh rate and up to 16-bit (48-bit total) video. No consumer sources are higher than 8-bit video, but some components and displays can upconvert incoming video signals to higher bit depths or transmit/process video signals upconverted to Deep Color. HDMI 1.3 also carries lossless audio in the form of Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio in bitstream form. It also supports Deep Color, xvYCC color, and Auto lip sync.

 

In short, as it progressed from version 1.0 through version 1.3, HDMI gave us increasingly wider video bandwidth plus the ability to pass all current forms of multichannel high-resolution audio available to the consumer. Some of its additional capabilities, such as Deep Color and the xvYCC color gamut, have seen very limited use so far.

 


Please Sir, Could I Have Some More?

 

As always, enough is never enough, and HDMI version 1.4 was announced in 2009. While HDMI 1.4 offers a number of benefits, the big kahuna is 3D.

 

According to HDMI, a product doesn’t need to support all of the features that HDMI 1.4 offers to be classified as HDMI 1.4. It must come equipped with the appropriate HDMI 1.4 chips and either an HDMI 1.4 transmitter (for a source, such as a Blu-ray 3D player), receiver (for a display), or both (such as an A/V receiver with HDMI 1.4 switching). The features must also be programmed into the chips, which is up to the manufacturer of the product involved. Beyond the chips, the product doesn’t have to offer all HDMI features out of the box. Before you write the check, be sure to check that any HDMI 1.4 component you are considering offers the HDMI 1.4 features you need, such as the ability to pass a 3D signal. Some products may ship with promises of future firmware updates to include additional 1.4 features, but don’t be surprised if deliveries of such updates are snail-slow. When engineering is involved, deadlines are rarely ironclad.

 

HDMI 1.4 features that offer the most immediate benefits to the consumer:

 

HDMI 1.4 can transmit, pass, and receive the new 3D source material. HDMI 1.3 offers the same maximum bandwidth as HDMI 1.4, but 1.4 can carry additional data that better accommodates Java-intensive discs. HDMI 1.4 can also recognize and transmit the flags imbedded in a 3D source that tell your 3D HDTV to automatically switch to the correct 3D mode.

 

HDMI 1.4a is identical to HDMI 1.4 except that it adds compatibility with the mandatory 3D broadcast standards. These include the side-by-side horizontal and top-and-bottom formats. These both provide 3D, but side-by-side has a resolution of 960 by 1080, and top-to-bottom has a resolution of 1920 by 540—that is, half the resolution of full high definition. At present, Blu-ray is the only source that offers full 1920-by-1080 3D resolution for home viewing.

 

HDMI 1.4’s Audio Return Channel lets audio from the set pass back through the HDMI cable that connects the display to your A/V receiver or surround processor. This can eliminate the need for a separate audio cable (analog or digital) from the set’s audio output to the AVR or surround processor.

 


HDMI 1.4 features that will offer benefits further down the road:

 

The HDMI Ethernet Channel allows multiple components connected with HDMI 1.4 to share a single Internet connection to one of the components. This two-way, high-speed HDMI Ethernet Channel operates at up to 100 megabits per second. To use this data channel, each component in the system must be HDMI Ethernet Channel capable.

 

HDMI 1.4 supports a source resolution of 4096 by 2169 at a maximum refresh rate of 24 Hz.

 

HDMI 1.4 will support the wide color spaces that are available in some digital still cameras (sYCC601, Adobe RGB, and Adobe YCC6012). A new, smaller HDMI connector was developed as part of HDMI 1.4. This connector is intended primarily for portable devices.

首页

从HDMI 1.0到HDMI 1.4

2013/8/12 10:34:30点击:1619
返回

2002年,视频界刚开适应模拟分量视频,HDTV和DVD也才开始获得市场地位。用三个独立的视频电缆,就可以将最佳视频源连接高清电视了。另外加上三根音频电缆,就可以连接到A/V接收机。虽然利用了很多电缆,但是却让大多数观众第一次真正领略高品质的视频。从计算机领域发展而来的DVI,由于接头太大,而且只传输视频信号而没有音频信号,因此从来没有应用于关键领域。


随后,诞生了高清晰度多媒体接口(HDMI,High-Definition Multimedia Interface),它只有一根电缆而且同时传输视频和音频信息。短时期内,包括FireWire对HDMI构成了竞争。截至2010年9月,全球约800家公司采纳了HDMI标准。

 

HDMI优势

HDMI仅是简单的系统连接,而且是器件和显示器之间的双向通信。在系统自动化中,双向沟通为消费者提供了潜在的优势。但其主要的吸引力是为内容供应商它提供了版权保护。要是没有版权保护,演播室必须释放视频和音频材料给市场。

 

尽管有上述优势,HDMI设备最初会突发失灵。几乎所有这些都涉及到设备和显示器之间的信息传输,在信号锁定之前必须建立双向握手信号。被称为扩展显示标识数据(EDID,Extended Display Identification Data)的信息交换可以是相对良性的。它可以包括显示器的最佳分辨率、色彩空间、是否具备3D能力和包含的3D格式。

 

有些要求的EDID涉及版权保护。例如,如果显示或中间直通设备(如A/V接收机)是不兼容高带宽数字内容保护(HDCP,High-Bandwidth Digital Content Protection——使用高清信号源的主要版权保护计划之一),该系统将不能完成握手。

 


许多问题不是HDMI本身的缺陷,而是由于对整体连接环境的错误预期。HDMI的问题没有完全消失,但由于HDMI的不断修订事情已经稳步提高。

 

HDMI1.0——HDMI1.3

HDMI的第一个版本HDMI 1.0开始于2002年,逐步达到当前稳定版本:HDMI 1.4和1.4a。HDMI 1.0的分辨率为1920*1080,帧率为60Hz,视频色深只有8位(这样三基色视频信号总共只有24位)。它可以携带8通道线性PCM音频,分辨率高达24 bits/192KHz。HDMI通过中间迭代增加了对DVD-Audio和SACD的支持,并增加系统的视频分辨率。

HDMI 1.3增加了两倍视频带宽,可以通过帧率为60Hz和高达16位色深(48位总)的全高清视频。没有消费视频源色深高于8位,但一些设备和显示器可以上变频输入的视频信号到更高的位深度,或传输/处理上变频到高色深的视频信号。HDMI1.3的也以比特流形式传输无损音频,如Dolby TrueHD 何 DTS-HD Master Audio。HDMI1.3还支持深色、xvYCC色域和Auto lip sync。

总之,从HDMI1.0进展到HDMI1.3,HDMI获得了更高的带宽的同时,也支持多声道高清晰音频。有些附加功能,如深色和xvYCC色域目前用途有限。 


HDMI 1.4

HDMI 1.4版本于2009年宣布。HDMI 1.4提供了许多好处,最大的是3D。产品并不需要支持所有被归类为HDMI 1.4的功能。但它必须来配备合适的HDMI 1.4芯片和一个HDMI 1.4发射器(如蓝光3D播放器)、接收器(显示器),或两者兼而有之(如配备HDMI 1.4开关的A/V接收机)。产品制造商设计的功能必须编程入HDMI 1.4芯片里面。除了芯片,该产品不提供所有的HDMI功能。当购买HDMI 1.4的设备之前,一定要检查该设备是否提供了所需要的HDMI 1.4功能,如接收3D信号。

 


HDMI 1.4的功能,提供给消费者最直接的好处:

HDMI 1.4的传输、通过和接收新的3D源信息。 HDMI 1.3提供与HDMI 1.4相同的最大带宽,但HDMI 1.4可以携带更多的数据,更好地适应Java型的光盘。 HDMI 1.4也可以识别和传输在嵌入在3D视频里面的标志,指示3D高清电视自动切换到正确的3D模式。

HDMI 1.4a除兼容3D广播标准外,和HDMI 1.4a是一样的。3D广播标准包括side-by-side和top-and-bottom格式。二者都支持3D,区别在于side-by-side的分辨率为1080*960,而top-and-bottom的分辨率为1920*540(全高清分辨率的一半)。目前,蓝光格式是提供家庭观看的1920*1080 3D的唯一来源。

 

集音频的HDMI 1.4的音频回传通道允许通过HDMI电缆连接显示器到A/V接收器或环绕声处理器。这样从音频输出到AVR或环绕处理器可以减少使用一根单独的音频电缆。

 

HDMI 1.4的功能将进一步提供在传输过程中的好处:

HDMI以太网通道允许连接到HDMI 1.4的多个设备共享一个Internet。通过这种双向通行,高速HDMI以太网通道运行速度可以高达100Mbps。要使用这个数据通道,系统中的每个设备必须具备HDMI以太网络通道。

当帧率为24Hz时,HDMI 1.4支持最大分辨率4096*2169。

HDMI 1.4将支持在一些数码相机中使用的色彩空间(sYCC601、Adobe RGB和YCC6012)。HDMI 1.4开发了一个更小的HDMI接口,主要用于便携设备。